//
you're reading...
inquiry, justanotherpartofthestory, reflections

Memories: A mash-up

I would like to begin with the acknowledgement that none of what I am about to share is at all ‘original’ in the true sense of the word. As I have progressed on this journey attempting to make meaning of what I read and experience, the best I can come up with at present is an assembly of fragments from other people’s work that have resonated with me. Bits and pieces, re-organized in a way that connects to my own experiences and reflects who I am becoming. I take comfort in the quotes below shared via Austin Kleon and in my own belief that ideas are open knowledge, existing to be shared.

David Foster Wallace, in a remarkable 2005 commencement address at Kenyon College said:

“learning how to think really means… being conscious and aware enough to choose what you pay attention to and to choose how you construct meaning from experience.”

Well, here is what I have been paying attention to this year. Through eye-opening dialogue with Amy Park and other extraordinary educators at the Calgary Science School, through the amazing resources shared so openly on twitter, blogs and other social media, through conferences like Educon and ConnectEd and post-secondary courses delivered by passionate educators that ‘get it’, but mostly through listening to the uninhibited thoughtfulness and originality of nine and ten year olds, this is some of what I have come to understand. It has been a deeply transformative year for me. I cannot ever remember having changed so much in such a short amount of time and it has been while since I believed in passion as I now live it. The compilation below is not particularly polished and my perception of it might be partly obscured by a deeply personal connection to the experiences and the people reflected but it is not meant to be a final articulation of all that is.

Plato once called written work “not a recipe for memory, but for reminding that you have discovered.” This video is a reminder of what I have discovered.

We cannot grasp the world nor put it into an order. We can only experience it.
Don Domanski
About Deirdre Bailey

Reader, Runner, Skier, Educator

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

